Find Comfort From a Trusted Friend

Read 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.                                                                   Matthew 5:4

Grief is something we’ll all experience at a point in our lives. It may be a broken relationship (romantic or friendship), loss of job, rejection or death of a loved one.
In year 2015 I experienced so much grief that got me broken. I lost 2 of my special loved ones – my parents. My mum passed away in September 2015 and exactly ten days after her funeral in October I lost my dad. In fact, it was a terrible moment of my life. I just couldn’t accept the situation and was in denial of their death. I was griped with sadness and sorrow. I felt so empty and wished I could comfort myself as Jeremiah stated “Oh, that I (Jeremiah) could find comfort from my sorrow [for my grief is beyond healing], my heart is sick and faint within me! (Jer. 8:18-AMP).
I needed to pause for a moment and remind myself of Matthew 5:4 which indicates that there is a comforter during our mourning.  The question then is why was mine full of sadness. I then realised that I had forgotten the real source of my comfort and that is God and not myself. I needed inner healing which only he could give because “He sent out his word and healed them, and delivered them from their destruction.”
Weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning. A continuous grief or sorrow will only give us little comfort for in Him is healing and he wants to bear and share every suffering with us. He says “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

In our darkest moment and pain, may he be our true source of comfort.

Prayer

Thank you heavenly father for your comfort in this sad moment of my life. I know you are always with me and I ask that you help me find healing from your word. Amen

Thought for the Day

He sent our His word and healed them

Prayer focus:

All who are going through sorrow

 

Leave a Reply

